Youth Services Committee

The Opportunity Inc. Youth Services Committee, a group concerned with helping young people, JJN_7927 develops the portion of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) geared towards preparing youth for graduation and employment.The Council develops programs in partnership with organizations that provide support for in and out-of-school youth between the ages of 14 and 24 in the areas of career exploration, education, leadership development, workplace readiness skills and occupational skills training.

Youth Services Committee Members

Mr. Jeffrey W. Ainslie

President of Finance & Operations

The Ainslie Group

Dr. Elsie Barnes

Professor of Political Science

Norfolk State University

Ms. Barbara Brinson

Youth Coordinator

City of Virginia Beach Youth Opportunities Office

Ms. Sean Beslow

Admissions Counselor

Virginia Job Corps

Mr. Thomas Calhoun


Norfolk Federation of Teachers

Ms. Tammy Carlson

Human Resource Director

Girl Scout Council of Colonial Coast

Ms. Christina C. Conner

Youth Representative

Mr. David Edwards


WR Systems Ltd

Ms. Renee Ricks Felts

Interim Dean, Occupational & Technical Programs

Paul D. Camp Community College

Ms. Linda Filippi

Executive Director

Tidewater Youth Services Commission

Ms. Kim Garrett

Vice President/Relationship Manager

Wells Fargo Bank

Ms. Alice L. Jones

Director Student & Alumni Programs

Old Dominion University

Dr. Pat Konopnicki

Director Office of Technical & Career Education

Virginia Beach Schools

Mr. Corey McCray


The Pruden Center for Industry

Ms. Mary McGovern

Senior Vice President

Divaris Real Estate, Inc.

Ms. Martha Razor

Early Childhood Specialist


Mr. Kevin Will


Junior Achievement of Greater Hampton Roads

Ms. Yvette V. Young

Vice President

Urban League of Hampton Roads, Inc.