Youth Council

The Opportunity Inc. Youth Council, a group concerned with helping young people, JJN_7927 develops the portion of the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) geared towards preparing youth for graduation and employment.The Council develops programs in partnership with organizations that provide support for in and out-of-school youth between the ages of 14 and 21 in the areas of career exploration, education, leadership development, workplace readiness skills and occupational skills training.

Youth Council Members

Mr. Jeffrey W. Ainslie

President of Finance & Operations

The Ainslie Group

Dr. Elsie Barnes

Professor of Political Science

Norfolk State University

Ms. Barbara Brinson

Youth Coordinator

City of Virginia Beach Youth Opportunities Office

Ms. Sean Beslow

Admissions Counselor

Virginia Job Corps

Mr. Thomas Calhoun


Norfolk Federation of Teachers

Ms. Tammy Carlson

Human Resource Director

Girl Scout Council of Colonial Coast

Mr. David Edwards


WR Systems Ltd

Ms. Linda Filippi

Executive Director

Tidewater Youth Services Commission

Ms. Kim Garrett

Vice President/Relationship Manager

Wells Fargo Bank

Ms. Alice L. Jones

Director Student & Alumni Programs

Old Dominion University

Dr. Pat Konopnicki

Director Office of Technical & Career Education

Virginia Beach Schools

Ms. Martha Razor

Early Childhood Specialist


Mr. Kevin Will

Executive Director

Boys and Girls Club of Southeast Virginia

Ms. Yvette V. Young

Vice President

Urban League of Hampton Roads, Inc.

Dr. Aaron Spence


Virginia Beach Public Schools

Mr. Steven Wright


Chesapeake Economic Development

Mr. Larry H. Young


Eastern Virginia Labor Federation/A.F.L.-C.I.O

Ms. Kecia N. Brothers

Regional Reentry Specialist- Eastern Region

Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice

Dr. William (Bill) Aiken

Interim President

Paul D. Camp Community College

Dr. Edna Baehre- Kolovani


Tidewater Community College

Dr. Willie Bell, Jr.


Franklin City Public Schools